About Us
The Nigerian Cardiac Society was founded in March 1971.The society has since then regularly held its annual scientific conference as well as an annual general meeting. Founding fathers to whom credit must be given include: Professors A.U. Antia (First President), Edington, Abraham, Cockshott, Brokington, Parry, Ikeme, Ogunlesi, Akinkugbe, Carlisle, Udekwu and Dede Ihenacho. Others who have contributed immensely include Professors Lagundoye, Okuwobi, Falase, Adebonojo, Anyanwu, Andy, Ofoegbu, Araoye, Adebo (past Presidents) and a host of other highly dedicated officials and members.

The Nigerian Cardiac society strives to disseminate current and evidence-based information on cardiovascular diseases to the public, as well as promote the adoption of healthy life-styles by the general public through adoption of cardiovascular disease preventive measures that have been borne out of research.

During the 7th World Congress of Cardiology in 1974, the Society was admitted to the membership of the International Society and Federation of Cardiology (ICSF) now World Heart Federation. The President of the Nigerian Cardiac Society is invited as a special guest to the Annual Scientific meeting of the American College of Cardiology.

The Pan African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR) was inaugurated in 1981 at ASCON Badagry through the efforts of the Nigerian Cardiac Society and the financial support of the Merck, Sharpe & Dohme (now Associated Pharmaceutical Products).

Membership of the society is open to certified persons within and allied to the cardiovascular healthcare delivery disciplines. Persons who are in training in these disciplines are welcome as Associate members.


The first open heart surgical operation in Nigeria was undertaken in 1974 at the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital (UNTH) Enugu. The team was led by visiting Professor Yaccoub from the UK and others in the team included Professors Udekwu and Anyanwu.

The first open heart surgical operation at the University College Hospital was in 1978 and the team comprised Professors Adebonojo, Adebo, Akinyemi and Grillo. The National Cardiothoracic Centre is at the UNTH Enugu and the establishment of a National Institute of Cardiology is a prime objective of the Nigerian Cardiac Society

© 2007-2016. Nigerian Cardiac Society. All rights reserved. Website designed and hosted by BuildingEwealth Info-Tech Limited